Searching databases is a little different than searching the web. If you need any help, contact a librarian.
Guide to the Historical Collection
Explore the rich history of the Village of Voorheesville through our Guide to the Historical Collection. This inventory will open as a PDF.
Britannica Academic (NOVEL)
Britannica Academic delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. The rich combination of the venerable Encyclopedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that college students need to consult when conducting thorough collegiate research—all from one resource. Written by Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors, and other notable experts, Britannica Academic’s articles provide trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights that users will not find anywhere else.
Expert ratings and consumer reviews from an independent product testing organization.
DMV Permit Practice Tests
Access to NYS DMV practice driving tests and handbooks for car, motorcycle, and CDL.
Resources to build your resumé, search job postings, and gain knowledge of interview skills. It’s a great tool for individuals, parents, teachers and counselors.
Effortlessly create a professional resume in minutes! Simply plug in your basic information (as little or as much as you’d like), and Cypress Resume creates a perfectly formatted document for you. Available on library computers and at home with your library card.
SkillUp Capital Region
This online portal allows job seekers to explore career pathways, view local job postings, register for free online learning, and receive workforce services. Employers can search for qualified candidates, post jobs, and receive in-depth consulting to address hiring and training needs. This service does not require a library card, but users need to have a Rensselaer, Schenectady or Albany county address.
Albany Medical College Consumer Health Guide
The Schaffer Library of Health Science at Albany Medical College created this guide for researching Health and Medical topics. In 2017, VPL partnered with Schaffer Library to have all Reference Librarians certified as Consumer Health Information Specialists through the Medical Library Association.
Health Reference Center Academic (NOVEL)
Full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a variety of personal health information sources.
Business Insights: Essentials (NOVEL)
Includes company profiles, industry reports and financial reports, as well as business magazines and newspapers.
Academic OneFile (NOVEL)
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world’s leading journals and reference sources.
General OneFile (NOVEL)
News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics.
Britannica School (NOVEL)
Britannica School is the go-to site for learning more about any subject—for all grades Pre-K-12 and all reading abilities—offering thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended Web sites, and three separate databases—Elementary, Middle, or High.
Britannica Escolar (NOVEL)
Discover the leading knowledge-building resource that is universally trusted for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish. New features make it more valuable than ever for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish.
Kids InfoBits (NOVEL)
Contains over 100 age-appropriate magazines for grades K-5. Also includes Merriam-Webster’s Elementary Dictionary, maps, flags, seals, charts and graphs.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (NOVEL)
Contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 21,000 pro/con viewpoints. Includes a variety of resource types: reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more.
Research in Context (NOVEL)
Contains magazines, newspapers, primary sources and videos for students in grades 6 to 8.
Explore and stay informed on local and national topics, people, and events in areas such as business, health, education, jobs and careers, political and social issues and more. Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources spanning the U.S., including the Times Union Collection. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
InfoTrac Newsstand (NOVEL)
This full-text newspaper database has several New York Newspapers including the New York Times from 1995 on, and over 1,000 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers.
New York Times Online
NYTimes.com is a multi-platform news tool that provides full access to New York Times and International New York Times content, including breaking news, multimedia, reviews and opinion, blogs, videos and more. NYTimes.com is updated 24/7 with corresponding time stamps. From the home page, one can access more than 25 Times sections, including World, Politics, New York, Opinion, Business, Technology, Science, Sports, Arts, Fashion & Style, and Video. For instruction on accessing the service, visit our webpage.
Times Union Collection
Explore Albany history through local news, events, and people with Times Union Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.